Israel denies entry to 2 US deputies

Thu, 15 Aug 2019 19:54:52 +0200

  The Israeli government has decided to ban the entry into the country of two American democratic parliamentarians who support Israel's international boycott movement. This was announced by Deputy Foreign Minister Tzipi Hotovely, stating that "Israel has decided not to allow" the deputies Rashida Tlaib and Ilhan Omar to make the visit scheduled for next week. The decision, Hotovely said, is in line with the policy of denying entry to those who support the boycott of Israel.
    The words of the deputy minister come after President Donald Trump tweeted that Israel would show "a great weakness" if it allowed the two parliamentarians to enter the country. Omar and Tlaib are part of the so-called "squad" with Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez and Ayanna Pressley, or rather the four democratic, progressive and colored deputies that Trump has repeatedly targeted on social networks, accusing them of being against Israel and the US and pro terrorism.